Adoption and Integrity

cassieharte

When I was a little girl, I thought adoption meant that a child was chosen. I imagined a huge playground where hundreds of parent-less children played. A couple would come along and talk to the children and choose one to go home with them. Everyone would live happily ever after. Being so different from my siblings and not being treated the same, I often wondered  if I had been adopted. But was confused; because I thought if a child was ‘chosen’, then they would have even more love than those who weren’t chosen. So I couldn’t have been adopted because I had no love at all from the woman they called my Mother. There must, I thought, in my child’s mind, be another reason.

So I made up a story, that a young couple arrived at our door and said they wanted their daughter back. They hadn’t been able to…

View original post 1,518 more words

Leave a Reply

